In the Dark of the End

SATB w. Piano | Duration c. 3'00"

Featured in Starlight: An Anthology of Works for Mixed Chorus

Hewitt Hill Music

This setting of Walter De La Mare’s stunning poem For All the Grief  was jointly commissioned by Nathan Hale High School of West Allis, WI (Zachary Beeksma, conductor) and Cambridge High School of Milton, GA (Matthew Van Dyke, conductor). The poem speaks of the desire to be a source of comfort for those in need, in spite of the potential grief caused by the speaker’s words in the past. Given the beautiful simplicity of these words, I chose to set the text in a very simple way, with a few moments of unusual harmonic interest to communicate both the loneliness and darkness of the poem and the positive intentions contained therein.

-        Thomas LaVoy

For all the grief I have given with words
    May now a few clear flowers blow,
In the dust, and the heat, and the silence of birds,
        Where the lonely go.

For the thing unsaid that heart asked of me
    Be a dark, cool water calling - calling
To the footsore, benighted, solitary,
        When the shadows are falling.

O, be beauty for all my blindness,
    A moon in the air where the weary wend,
And dews burdened with loving-kindness
        In the dark of the end.

- Walter De La Mare

In the Dark of the End

There is a 15 copy minimum for this item. PDF will be delivered after the premieres of this work on May 11th, 2018. 

Add To Cart

Instructions for purchasing scores on individual work pages:

1.  Enter the number of scores needed into the 'quantity' field and click 'add to cart.'

2.   Fill out the form, proceed to checkout and purchase the scores via credit/debit card or paypal. If you are purchasing a choral work, the number of copies purchased must match or exceed the number of performers. 

3.   Receive score as a printable PDF via direct email or DropBox download.

4.   Print the number of scores you purchased. 

Please note that all Hewitt Hill Music scores are optimized for letter size paper and are currently available through digital download only.